Archive for the ‘A Room of Her Own Foundation’ Category

Apply to A Room of Her Own Foundation for the sixth $50,000 Gift of Freedom Award — and have the time and money to pursue your creative dream.

The Gift of Freedom competition will determine finalists from each genre—creative nonfiction, fiction, playwrighting, & poetry. One genre finalist will be awarded the $50,000 Gift of Freedom grant. Along with a $5,000 cash prize, the three remaining finalists for the Gift of Freedom Award receive a professional mentoring session, eligibility to attend a future AROHO Retreat for Women Writers and the honored distinction of being the finalist in their genre.

Entries must be postmarked by Nov. 1, 2012.

Read Full Post »

Since 2003, the AROHO Retreat has gathered women writers to exchange ideas and develop their craft in New Mexico’s high desert.  Nestled in the red rocks of Ghost Ranch that inspired Georgia O’Keeffe, AROHO Retreat participants enjoy plenty of time to write, reflect, and establish alliances with other professional women writers.

The next retreat will be held at Ghost Ranch, Abiquiu, New Mexico, Aug. 12-18, 2013. For details, visit A Room of Her Own.

“To let oneself be carried on passively is unthinkable.” –Virginia Woolf


Read Full Post »


The Orlando Prizes sponsored by the A Room of Her Own Foundation are awarded in both spring and fall. Spring 2012 winners in four categories are listed above.

Entries in the fall competition, which also includes eMessages, are being reviewed now, as they were due July 31.

Read Full Post »

A Room of Her Own, a foundation for women writers and artists, has several prize deadlines coming up, along with a one-day conference. They include:
The foundation and its awards are inspired by Virginia Woolf, and this Woolf quote appears prominently on the foundation’s website:

Women have sat indoors all these millions of years, so that by this time the very walls are permeated by their creative force, which has, indeed, so overcharged the capacity of bricks and mortar that it must needs harness itself to pens and brushes and business and politics.

Intellectual freedom depends on material things. Poetry depends upon intellectual freedom, and women have always been poor, not for two hundred years, but from the beginning of time … That is why I have laid so much stress on money and a room of one’s own.
Virginia Woolf, A Room of One’s Own, 1929

Read Full Post »

A Room of Her Own Foundation has two writing competition deadlines coming up. They are:

  • Orlando Prize deadline is July 31. Awards are given for unpublished poetry, short fiction, flash fiction and nonfiction. A $1,000 prize is awarded in each category, along with publication of the work.
  • To the Lighthouse Poetry Publication Prize postmark deadline is Aug. 31. The award is given for the best unpublished poetry by a woman. The winner receives $1,000 and publication with the Red Hen Press.

The foundation is dedicated to furthering the vision of Virginia Woolf and bridging the gap between a woman’s economic reality and her artistic creation by offering generous financial support to women of diverse artistic expression.

Read Full Post »

The deadline for the A Room of Her Own foundation’s $1,000 Orlando Prize is Jan. 31.

The foundation, for women writers and artists, will award its To the Lighthouse Poetry Publication Prize for the best, unpublished poetry collection by a woman. Apply here by Aug. 31. The 2010 winner was Carolyn Guinzio for her volume E.

The deadline to apply for the A Room of Her Own 2011 Retreat is March 1.

AROHO is a nonprofit institution working on behalf of women writers. The $50,000 Gift of Freedom Award is given every two years and is the largest grant of its kind to women in the United States.

Read Full Post »

A Room of Her Own Foundation has announced two competition deadlines for women writers

In addition, the foundation’s 2011 retreat for women writers is scheduled for Aug. 8-14, with Marilynne Robinson as the featured guest for the week. Additional information and the online application will be on the website Aug. 1. The application deadline is March 1, 2011.

Read Full Post »

« Newer Posts - Older Posts »

%d bloggers like this: