Archive for the ‘awards’ Category

Celebrate Virginia Woolf’s call to be free from the constraints of time and gender, and apply for A Room of One’s Own Foundation’s Orlando prizes by July 31.

orlando prizes spring 13

AROHO’s To the Lighthouse Poetry Publication Prize will be awarded for the best, unpublished poetry collection by a woman. The winning manuscript will be awarded $1000 and publication of collection by Red Hen Press.  Our thanks to Pulitzer Prize Winner, Tracy K. Smith, for being the 2013 To The Lighthouse Judge.

Read Full Post »


Finalist Judge Evie Shockley selected Leia Penina Wilson’s “I built a boat with all the towels in your closet” as A Room of Her Own’s fourth winning To the Lighthouse manuscript:  “I was mesmerized by the wild lyricism, quiet wit, and fearless curiosity of these poems.  I feel lucky to have encountered them and am delighted to recognize them with the To the Lighthouse Prize.

””I built a boat with all the towels in your closet” will be published by  Red Hen Press.

Jan. 31, 2013
Orlando Deadline: Poetry, Short Fiction, Creative Nonfiction & Flash Fiction

Read Full Post »

The deadline for A Room of Her Own Foundation‘s sixth $50,000 Gift of Freedom Award has been extended until Nov. 15, due to Hurricane Sandy.

Read Full Post »

Apply to A Room of Her Own Foundation for the sixth $50,000 Gift of Freedom Award — and have the time and money to pursue your creative dream.

The Gift of Freedom competition will determine finalists from each genre—creative nonfiction, fiction, playwrighting, & poetry. One genre finalist will be awarded the $50,000 Gift of Freedom grant. Along with a $5,000 cash prize, the three remaining finalists for the Gift of Freedom Award receive a professional mentoring session, eligibility to attend a future AROHO Retreat for Women Writers and the honored distinction of being the finalist in their genre.

Entries must be postmarked by Nov. 1, 2012.

Read Full Post »

For more details, visit A Room of Her Own Foundation.

Loveliness and stillness clasped hands in the bedroom, and among the shrouded jugs and sheeted chairs even the prying of the wind, and the soft nose of the clammy sea airs, rubbing, snuffling, iterating, and reiterating their questions— “Will you fade? Will you perish?”— scarcely disturbed the peace, the indifference, the air of pure integrity, as if the question they asked scarcely needed that they should answer: we remain. – To the Lighthouse

Read Full Post »

A Room of Her Own Foundation has two writing competition deadlines coming up. They are:

  • Orlando Prize deadline is July 31. Awards are given for unpublished poetry, short fiction, flash fiction and nonfiction. A $1,000 prize is awarded in each category, along with publication of the work.
  • To the Lighthouse Poetry Publication Prize postmark deadline is Aug. 31. The award is given for the best unpublished poetry by a woman. The winner receives $1,000 and publication with the Red Hen Press.

The foundation is dedicated to furthering the vision of Virginia Woolf and bridging the gap between a woman’s economic reality and her artistic creation by offering generous financial support to women of diverse artistic expression.

Read Full Post »

The deadline for the A Room of Her Own foundation’s $1,000 Orlando Prize is Jan. 31.

The foundation, for women writers and artists, will award its To the Lighthouse Poetry Publication Prize for the best, unpublished poetry collection by a woman. Apply here by Aug. 31. The 2010 winner was Carolyn Guinzio for her volume E.

The deadline to apply for the A Room of Her Own 2011 Retreat is March 1.

AROHO is a nonprofit institution working on behalf of women writers. The $50,000 Gift of Freedom Award is given every two years and is the largest grant of its kind to women in the United States.

Read Full Post »

« Newer Posts - Older Posts »

%d bloggers like this: